On Tap for Today

A fun loving, inspired living blog

Today: What a difference a year makes.

11 Comments

[tweetmeme source=”elizabethev” only_single=false]My collection of crowned jewels jewelry has grown to include three very important items since January 9, 2011: two marathon medals and one very sparkly engagement ring.

Truth be told, I expected (and hoped!) that Nick and I would get married.  I guess that’s what happens when you find your better half in the world: you hope that, somehow, that person will be by your side for always.  Regardless of my hopes and expectations, I was completely surprised when Nick proposed to me on the roof of our building that Friday night in early September.  I cried like a total goober.  I was so overcome by the excitement of our future together, that I could not even begin to think about a ring, too.  Goodness gracious.  It’s been on my finger ever since.  Except when I’m at boxing.  Totally unsafe.

While my marathon medals pale in comparison (and significance, obvi), I am still quite proud to have them in my jewelry box.  If you had told me  that I’d have both of these suckers in my possession this time last year, I am not sure I would believe you.  Mostly because I still didn’t believe someone like me could be a marathoner.  Let alone a two-time marathoner.  And a resounding hell naw to being a two-time marathoner contemplating a third.

What a difference a year makes.  Training for and completing both races took a tremendous amount of effort and time, but above all, it took believing in myself.  And a lot of Gu.

Also On Tap for Today:

What’s your favorite piece of jewelry?

Author: Elizabeth

A writer, non-profit exec, a BC alumna, a CrossFitter, a FitFluential Ambassador, a (holy crap) 2x marathoner, and a very happy bride-to-be.

11 thoughts on “Today: What a difference a year makes.

  1. I love my wedding rings but my absolute favorite piece of jewelry is my grandmothers wedding band. I wear it with my wedding rings on the other side of my engagement ring.

  2. I’d have to agree with you that my engagement ring is definitely my favorite piece of jewelry!

  3. that last photo made.my.heart.smile.

  4. Congrats on all your beautiful jewelry!! How did your body hold up after running two marathons? I ran one and my knees are still killing me.

  5. You should be so proud of your year! I can only hope all of that comes for me soon.

  6. Yay for all your jewelry! I cried like a baby when I was proposed to as well… there could have been a twisty tie in the box and it would have been just great. 🙂

  7. Lovely ring! My engagement ring is definitely my favorite piece of jewelry also…. though i did just get some incredible earrings for Christmas! That, along with my wedding band, is the extent of my jewels!

  8. I ran in the Goofy Challenge this weekend! I love the picture of you by the castle. Congrats on your marathons and engagement. All of your “bling” is gorgeous! Wishing you much happiness in 2012!

  9. This is a bit late but…
    WOOHOO! Go, Elizabeth!! 🙂

Share a comment below.